Karnataka boycotts sparklers during Diwali taking into account Covid-19 pandemic


The Karnataka government has chosen to boycott sparklers this Diwali as it might seriously affect the wellbeing of the individuals who have just been contaminated with Covid-19, Chief Minister B S Yediyurappa declared on Friday.

Addressing columnists in Bengaluru, Yediyurappa stated, “We have taken a choice to boycott fireworks in the state, in wake of COVID-19 pandemic. The request with respect to the boycott will be given soon.”

On Thursday, state wellbeing clergyman Dr. K Sudhakar held a gathering with the state’s COVID-19 master board of trustees and specialized warning council. Sudhakar said the panel had thought on the upsides and downsides of prohibiting sparklers during Deepavali and had suggested a boycott. “As the smoke can severely affect the strength of the individuals who have just been contaminated by COVID-19 and even the individuals who have not, we will put the board’s report before the Chief Minister and he will take an ultimate choice inside a day or two,” he had said.

The choice was taken by the Chief Minister subsequent to holding meetings with authorities of the Health and Family Welfare Department on Friday.

Rajasthan, New Delhi, Sikkim, Odisha, West Bengal, and Maharashtra have just prohibited the fireworks for Deepavali.